the SKINny girl

living with eczema, allergies and other skin issues

Acupuncture

I work in healthcare.

I think doctors are great. Doctors are fabulous. The work they do is miraculous (I am still in awe of the fact that my mom’s kidney is functioning inside of my sister’s body). But I do think there are other ways to solve a problem.

After many attempts to eliminate my eczema with steroids and wet wraps, only to find that the problem still existed, I consulted with my co-worker, who also happens to be an acupuncturist at AcuSport Health Center.

Upon my return from my California road trip, I made an appointment with my regular doctor. She prescribed me Betamethasone Valerate — another steroidal topical ointment. She told me to apply the ointment to the rashes on my hands, then do the wet wraps. She also suggested I try Doctor’s Defense Zen Fusion cream. She mentioned that it was great for eczema and psoriasis.

The wet wraps and steroid ointment didn’t seem to be doing much besides thinning my skin and the appointment I made with a dermatologist wasn’t for another couple of weeks. Here are some images of my hands after doing wet wraps.

Eczema on right palm

Eczema on finger

Acupuncture, on the other hand (no pun intended), has helped me tremendously. The moment the first needle was poked into my arm on June 24, I felt light-headed. “Whoa, what is that?!” I asked. Malinda, my acupuncturist, replied, “It’s probably the endorphins kicking in.” She put several more throughout my body and I lay on the table for an hour. I felt very floaty. Yes, light and billowy. I thought I was going to start elevating. It was that great.

When I came in after post-road trip, Malinda gave me an ointment — Blue Poppy Herbs Eczema Ointment for itchiness.

So far, I feel like my hands are getting better. I am extremely optimistic about alternative health and using it, combined with Western medicine, to heal my body.

Filed under: treatment, , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

