the SKINny girl

living with eczema, allergies and other skin issues

Hot & Cold Foods — Learning About Chinese Medicine

Not counting temperature and spiciness, I had no idea there was such a thing as hot and cold food.

After I showed my acupuncturist my red hands, she asked to see my tongue. I stuck my tongue out as far as I could and looked off to the side (it’s very awkward to look at someone directly in the eye while she’s looking at the tongue sticking out of your mouth).

“You need to clear some heat,” she said. “It looks like you have a lot of toxic heat in you.” It sounded like this toxic heat was trying to escape through my hands.

“How did it get in there?”

She said it could be any number of things, but first, I would need to eliminate hot foods from my diet.

I did some research.

Hot foods include:

  • ginger root
  • oats
  • spelt
  • quinoa
  • sesame
  • nuts
  • fennel
  • anise
  • carob
  • cumin
  • all root vegetables
  • onions
  • garlic
  • spicy leafy greens
  • eggs
  • meats

Dammit! Meals without garlic and onion?! I’d need to become a temporary vegetarian?

Cold foods include:

  • apples
  • bananas
  • tomatoes
  • citrus fruits
  • watermelon
  • leafy greens
  • broccoli and cauliflower
  • zucchini
  • soy milk, tofu and other soy products
  • mung beans
  • wheat
  • seaweed
  • yogurt
  • peppermint
  • cilantro

Let’s see if sticking to this type of diet works.

Filed under: diet, , , , ,

Leave a Reply

