the SKINny girl

living with eczema, allergies and other skin issues

Steroid Ointments

Steroid Ointments

I’m not a fan of steroid ointments. I was initially prescribed Triamcinolone Acetonide. I was told to rub this on the eczema on my hands. I got a huge jar of it. It looks like Vaseline.

I was also prescribed Desonide ointment, a less intense steroid ointment that was to be used on more delicate parts of my body, such as my face (are my hands not delicate?).

Both the Triamcinolone Acetonide and the Desonide were prescribed by my allergist.

I had a flare-up recently so I visited my primary care physician and she prescribed me Betamethasone Valerate, another topical steroid.

What is up with all of the steroid prescriptions? The ointments never fully eliminated my problems — they helped for a little bit, but it always took a long time for improvement to be visible.

Another bad thing about steroids is that they thin your skin. Definitely not a good thing.

These ointments were to be applied immediately preceding a wet wrap application. At first, it seemed as though the ointment was working, but in the long run, my rashes came back.

Are you currently using steroid ointments? Are they working?

Filed under: dealing with eczema, treatments that don't work

2 Responses

  1. Caitlin says:

    My boyfriend and I were reading this and he laughed when he saw the picture. Hes seen all of em on my bedside table. I’m 20 years old, and anytime I had a flare up or super dry skin that was their first and only suggestion, my skin is thined out beyond thin, and my my body is now immune to all of those. I stumbled across your blog searching for something, anything to calm down one of the worst flare ups I’ve ever had. Please keep writing I absolutly adore that you made this.

Leave a Reply

SKINny girl twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

