the SKINny girl

living with eczema, allergies and other skin issues

Corn is EVERYWHERE

I remember being a kid who hated vegetables. I hated tomatoes, hated anything green, hated eggplant. I thought corn was a vegetable (it’s really a grain) so when asked “What’s your favorite vegetable?” I would respond with “corn.”

Now, I’m not anti-corn, but I do see that it’s in almost every single food product out there, which makes it difficult for me to eat because I have an allergy to corn. It’s kind of annoying. Like trying to avoid an ex-boyfriend who seems to be everywhere you are.

Corn in Altoids

Altoids

Corn in mochi

mochi frozen dessert

Corn in turkey chili

Trader Joe’s turkey chili in a can

Corn in Very Berry cereal

Trader Joe’s Very Berry Clusters

Is corn bad? I don’t think it is, but I just can’t eat too much of it.

Corn has definitely gotten a bad rap, especially because of ethanol production (the purported “clean” fuel) and the deforestation that occurs as a result, and also because of the weight-gaining, diabetes causing, mercury containing high fructose corn syrup found in so many processed foods.

Maybe I’ve had eczema for so long because everything I’ve ever eaten has contained corn.

Filed under: allergens, dealing with eczema, foods

Leave a Reply

