the SKINny girl

living with eczema, allergies and other skin issues

10 Foods to Reduce Inflammation

Inflammation is a pretty trendy word in the health world right now. Yes, it’s a little overused, but I believe a lot of people suffer from a variety of health issues because of their diets, which results in inflammation in various forms, including:

  • Arthritis
  • Asthma
  • Bursitis
  • Dermatitis aka eczema

What anti-inflammatory foods do I recommend?

  1. Broccoli
  2. Olive oil
  3. Flax seed
  4. Green leafy vegetables
  5. Berries, especially blueberries and strawberries, which are packed with anti-inflammatory phytochemicals and antioxidants
  6. Whole grains
  7. Nuts
  8. Seafood
  9. Tofu
  10. Water

I eat these foods on a regular basis. Sometimes I buy them from the farmers market, sometimes from the grocery store, but I always buy organic. Meat needs to be grass fed and free range.

I know that when I slip up and eat a lot of red meat and processed foods, my rashes flare up. Not only that, but I feel miserable after eating a bunch of fried or processed foods. I feel like an itchy blob.

When I know what foods I’m eating and where they’re from, I feel healthier. My mind feels less groggy. My rashes disappear.

I no longer buy boxed cake mixes, pie crusts or cookies. Fruits replace pastries. Nuts, beans and seafood replace red meat.

It’s hard for me to have any desire to eat anything with a crazy amount of preservatives in it. There are so many ingredients that I can’t pronounce. It’s actually quite a turn-off. Not knowing the full list of ingredients in my food scares me. It scares me because I’m afraid there’s something in there that will make me break out in a bad case of eczema. I probably look like a food snob to anyone who watches me eat, but there’s a good reason behind the reason for me being so picky with my food — MY HEALTH.

I found a very helpful food pyramid (courtesy DrWeil.com) to illustrate which foods to avoid and which foods to eat in order to reduce inflammation.

Anti-inflammatory food pyramid

Have you tried an anti-inflammatory diet? Has it worked for you?

Filed under: diet, treatment, , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

SKINny girl twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

